An Urgent Letter to Distracted Men

Dear D.M., 

I hope all is well. I’m writing this letter to you with a sense of urgency. Your life literally depends on it. I’m concerned about you, and have been for awhile. You haven’t been the same lately, and I think I know why.

There is no shortage of opportunities for you to fail at life, and I often wonder how you’re holding up beneath the pressure. Honestly, how are you handling things?

Hiding Behind BrokenessI can only imagine what you’re going through, and the temptation you may be facing to give up. I see how much life has thrown your way to break and discredit you. I know you’re trying to make it; trying to survive in this dog-eat-dog world. I especially see how distractions try to lure you away from becoming a better man. 

People may have given up on you, but I won’t. Growing up you may have been told that you would never amount to anything, and that you’re good-for-nothing. I know about the hurt you hide from your friends and family. I see beyond your machismo, down to the core of who you really are and what’s really going on with you. So take off your mask for a moment, and look in the mirror. Despite what you’re going through, be encouraged. 

You can accomplish great things and finally let go of what’s holding you back; but you have to do something first. You have to eliminate distractions from your life, or else you’ll be sidetracked and end up living an unfulfilled life. If you don’t, you won’t honor your commitments, and those who count you now, will eventually stop. 

I want you to make progress in the right direction. But, it starts with a choice. Today, you have an important decision to make. Choose to live a focused life and I promise that you won’t regret it! 

Your Friend,

Focused Man (F.M.)

P.S. Don’t stress out when things change unexpectedly. Stay focused. Keep moving. Never go back. Trust God!

