He Betrayed Melissa

Delta Flight 1394, seat 26C

That was the flight I took from Atlanta, GA to New York today. It was a very full flight. I felt cramped and tired, despite the fact that I was in an exit row.

Anyway…

Once we reached 10,000 feet in the air, and the announcement was made giving us the green light to use “approved electronics,” I pulled out my Dell laptop. This is my typical routine.

I decided to do something productive for FMI. So I launched Adobe Photoshop 7.0. (Yes; I’m still using 7.0. But hey, it works great for what I need.)

I felt like designing a poster; so I did. “Broken Man”…that’s the theme I had in mind.

Ok. To make a long story short, when I was just about done, a flight attendant stopped scurrying about to ask me about the design. After less than a minute of explaining the concept and the purpose of FMI, she was touched. (Let me clean that up.) She was moved. LOL

She briefly shared her story, and how my design caught her eye.

by Oscar Camejo Jr. (Founder, The Focused Man International)

by Oscar Camejo Jr. (Founder, The Focused Man International)

Apparently, her ex-husband cheated on her, and got the other woman pregnant.

Honestly, I was waiting for the attendant to start crying and get emotional; but she didn’t. I could tell she was hurt, but she remained cool.

She went on to thank me for what I’m doing through FMI, and said, “This shows me that there’s still some good in the world. Only good can come out of what you’re doing. I’m inspired!”

My inspiring her inspired me to use her story in a book I’m writing about men, and the how to overcome the distractions that come to destroy our lives.

Hearing her story and seeing how much she was impacted, made me realize the importance of FMI. I thought of her ex-husband, and the fact that he allowed his attraction to another woman to distract him from his commitment at home.

Her name was Melissa.

So men, the thought for the day is:

Don’t allow your attraction to become your distraction!

(Disclaimer: The true identity of individuals and certain details mentioned in this blog have been omitted for the sake of privacy and protection.)

